Skip to main content

On Monday, March 6, 2017, the Trump administration announced his second attempt at crafting a travel ban that would bar entry of individuals from predominantly muslim countries.  Trump travel ban signed on January 27, 2017 was blocked by the U.S. Court of Appeal for the Ninth Circuit.  The new Trump travel ban goes into effect on March 16, 2017 and has the following major provisions:

  • Iraq removed from the list.
  • Targeted countries: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.
  • Current visa holders no longer affected.
  • Syrian refugees barred temporarily, not indefinitely and refugees of minority religions no longer favored.
  • Refugees already granted asylum will be allowed.

The new Trump travel ban only applies to people from the six countries without current immigrant or non-immigrant visas.  Students with valid F, M or J visas will be allowed admission into the U.S.  The new order explicitly says that green card holders from the targeted countries will still be allowed.

The ban on all refugees to the United States is still set at 120 days. Syrian refugees are no longer barred indefinitely, but now fall under the general ban. After the 120 days, the administration will determine which countries they will reinstate admissions from. 

For more information on Trump travel ban,

email or call 1-877-GAIL-LAW or 407-292-7730.

FREE in-office consultation – FREE Live Chat

Copyright © 2016, Law Offices of Gail S. Seeram. All Rights Reserved.